Seasonal baking

Hello!

I am very excited to tell you that I recreated something that looks a little bit like this today…

Latest recreation

The latest recreation… still in progress

But I want to finesse some nice photographs, so I will tell you more about those babies tomorrow. (Just as an aside: they worked splendidly, unlike my horrendous brownies from last week).

Meanwhile, I wanted to make mention of seasonal baking.

Seasonal baking?

Well, sure, you’ve probably heard of eating according to the seasons; eating the produce that ripens at certain times of the year. Eating in this way is better for the environment, better in terms of flavour and better for your wallet. Ever tried buying raspberries during winter? Like $8 for a small punnet over here! Ouch.

Most people would understandably associate seasonal eating with dishes like salads and roasted vegetables. Spring vegetable pasta is a common  recipe out in the blog ether. But those strawberries served with scones at high tea should also be considered. And how about those blueberry muffins? The fruit adorning a pavlova? Mango flummery? Seasonal baking, in my opinion, is a little overlooked. Because in the realm of the internet, those seasons can become blurred.

From Chasing Delicious (chasingdelicious.com)

I stumbled across this infographic a few weeks ago. Although the months are aligned with the northern hemisphere seasons it is still relevant for us Australians (or New Zealanders, South Americans or Southern Africans…). Even though I’ve always liked the idea of eating seasonally, I admit to being a bit of a cowboy about it. Relying on my intuition and some gardening knowledge. But armed with a poster like this, how could a home cook go wrong? Or, for that matter, a home cook, student, waitress and intern like me.

When you read about all the benefits of seasonal eating, they are often untenable. Sure, we may understand how it benefits the environment in some abstract sense. But often seasonal eating advocates don’t say how good it makes the cook feel to be using what nature provides. It’s pretty addictive.

Thankfully, citrus is available year-round. I am enamoured by citrus-laced cooking. Are you? I was perplexed when I overheard someone in our staff room express disgust for anything citrus-y in desserts. But clearly, this must be a common ‘thing’.

And yes, those biscuits are citrus flavoured. I look forward to sharing them with you tomorrow!

Happy cooking.

Meg

6 thoughts on “Seasonal baking

  1. Hi Meg,
    I’m from OZ as well and I love the chart showing all the seasonal fruits you put up. It’s a lil sucky when most of the recipes on blogs from around the world are showing mostly ‘summer’ produce, so it’s great to come across a fellow Aussie who understands that we can’t just make a raspberry tart or a peach cobbler 🙂
    P.s. I LOVE citrus desserts!!

    • Bubbly Baker, I am so glad to have a kindred citrus baking spirit here on WordPress! Mm, I find myself bookmarking recipes 6 months in advance with the seasonal difference between Victoria and most of my favourite blogs.
      ps. Your blog is beautiful (I’ve fallen in love with the lemon poppyseed cake).

      • Thanks Meg 🙂
        The lemon poppyseed cake although visually turned out nice was actually quite dense 😦 so I’m in the process of looking for a more moist and fluffy recipe… so if you or your Nan has one, I’ll be very keen to steal it and give it a go 🙂

  2. Pingback: Orange cream finger-biscuits | My Nana's Menu

Leave a Reply

