Orange cream finger-biscuits

These citrus-y and light orange cream finger-biscuits have been resurrected from a newspaper clipping recipe pasted to the inside of Nana Jean’s cookbook. Thank you to one I. M. Lohrey, the author of this beautiful recipe.

Have you ever heard of orange creams before? Here in Australia the first orange creams, dubbed ‘orange slice’ biscuits were sold in 1922 by Arnott’s. The orange slice was featured in a number of Assorted Cream selections during the 1920s and early 1930s, and you can still find the slim cream-filled biscuits in the packets today.

For those unfamiliar with orange creams – and you have my condolences, for they are truly  delicious – they consist of two vanilla biscuits with a layer of sherberty orange cream. They are tangy, and oh so more-ish.

The biscuits I present to you differ from the Arnott’s version. The biscuits aren’t flavoured with vanilla. Instead, they rejoice in sweet simplicity. I would say that vanilla would be cloying when paired with the orange filling, which is thick and fragrant. And the icing is perfectly zesty. I have never encountered an icing recipe like this. It requires you to ‘heat through’ the ingredients on the stove before pouring the mixture, still warm, over the filled biscuits. When the icing sets it cocoons the biscuits in a thin, snug and zingy casing. It feels, and looks, pretty special.

As I mentioned yesterday, citrus fruits are in season year-round. So whether you are from the northern or southern hemisphere, this recipe is ready and raring to go. And from my reading, it seems that the USA is experiencing extreme heat; how awful. If you are an American craving an orangey baked treat, be reassured by the fact that these biscuits only need 10 minutes in the oven.

Oh, and they go very nicely with chai tea.

Here’s to I. M. Lohrey and her exemplary orange cream finger-biscuits!

Meg.

~ ~ ~

Orange cream finger-biscuits

Orange cream finger-biscuits

a la I. M. Lohrey

Biscuits:

2 heaped tbsp butter

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

220 g (1/2 lb) plain flour

1 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp bicarb soda (baking soda)

pinch salt

Cream the butter and sugar, then add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Sift in the dry ingredients and make into a dough. Roll out about 1/4 inch (bit less than 1 cm) thick and cut into fingers. Bake at 200 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool completely on a wire rack before filling.

Filling:

3 tbsp icing sugar

1 large tbsp butter

1/2 orange, juiced

Beat ingredients in a small bowl and use to wedge pairs of biscuits together.

Icing:

1/2 orange, zest and juice

enough icing sugar to make it ‘pourable’

Warm in a saucepan and pour onto fingers. Will set in a few minutes.

5 thoughts on “Orange cream finger-biscuits

  1. I was so looking forward to this! Thanks Meg 🙂 The recipe doesn’t sound too difficult nor time consuming either.. so I think I may just make these on the weekend. I’ll let you know how the turn out 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon cakes | My Nana's Menu

  3. Pingback: Cream-filled orange cake from the past | My Nana's Menu

  4. Oh my gosh! I may have found the answer to my prayers! Growing up in Australia, I’m now in the U.S., I have been craving an orange slice biscuit! Thank you! I will definitely be trying this recipe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

