Raspberry slice

Raspberry slice

Most people have a wide range of friends. When you meet someone new and try describing your friends to them, how do you start? Do you say “my nursing friend” or “my university friend”? If you’re like me, and like most people I have met, you will probably say “oh, she’s my glamorous friend” or “he’s my adventurous friend” or “she’s the dare devil”. And if life were a stall of baked goods, your friends may resemble different cakes, biscuits and slices. Which leads me, in a convoluted segway, to this raspberry jam slice.

There’s no two ways about it, this raspberry slice is gorgeous. Sophisticated and homely, tart yet sweet and toothsome. I suppose that with a description like that, you can consider this slice as a warm squeezing hug from your most glamorous friend. Comforting yet elegant.

The key here is to buy quality jam. Not lip-puckeringly sweet jam, but homemade slightly-tart very-flavoursome jams. And as denoted below in the graceful hand of my Nana Jean – any jam will do. In fact, I am sure marmalade would do. Heck, even nutella would do, if you are that way inclined! Go for it… and be sure to let me know about the results!

Me? Lacking any jam in the fridge, and lacking any farmers markets in our town this weekend, I ventured to the supermarket with my brother. We chose a seedy crimson red raspberry jam because it was teasingly labelled ‘homemade’ from ‘grandma’s own secret recipe’. How fitting, you must be thinking to yourself. A homely small grandmother-esque jam for My Nana’s Menu. Wrong. I read the label when I got home: product of Serbia. Anyway, it was divine, despite the carbon footprint.

in the making

And took less than an hour from start to finish.

The base isn’t as firm as most baked slices. It is like a flexible cake layer which soaks up the vibrant jam, which turns hot and sticky and fragrant in the oven. The coconut layer oozes out to a chewy, toasty and moreish topping. Overall, a very nice special occasion (or bake sale) slice indeed.

Effortless and inspiring. Like the very best friendships!

Hope your weekend baking efforts have been just as successful.

Happy Sunday hombres!

Meg.

~ ~ ~

Raspberry slice

Raspberry slice

¼ lb butter

¼ cup sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 ½ cups SR flour

½ jar (ish) of good-quality jam

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Beat butter and sugar to a cream. Beat in the egg, then the flour. Use your hands if necessary to form a glossy dough.

Butter and line a flat tin. I used a brownie tin, which was too large, but the dough is firm enough to create any size you like. Press the dough out flat with a knife, and spread with jam.

1 egg

½ cup sugar

1 cup desiccated coconut (or shredded coconut)

Beat all ingredients and spread over the top of the jam with a fork. Bake for 25 minutes, or until golden.

Let the slice cool in the pan before slicing into thick fingers.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry slice

  1. Pingback: Jam drop biscuits to conclude the hiatus | My Nana's Menu

Leave a Reply

